amathela: ([spn] ruby)
Be cool, Gail. Be cool. ([personal profile] amathela) wrote2009-01-03 03:18 pm
Entry tags:

Fannish New Year's Resolutions

Stuff I want to do in fandom in 2009:

- Leave more feedback. This is number one, because, honestly, I'm usually really bad at this. Which sucks, because I know how much I cherish every single comment I receive. So, I'm going to make a concentrated effort to leave feedback on stuff I read and love, even if it's just "I loved this!" or something equally inane.

- Write longer fics, even if it means I write fewer fics. I have quite a few plot bunnies/outlines/ideas for longer fics that I never get around to finishing because, well, I'm lazy, and writing something I can finish in a few days instead of a few weeks or months appeals to my desire for instant gratification. I still do want to write those fics, though, so this year I'm going to try to focus less on short, single-session fics and more on putting a sustained effort into plotting, outlining, and actually writing longer fics. Quality > quantity, and I'm sure that, in the long run, I'll appreciate having written one or two long(ish) fics a lot more than a score of quickly-forgotten drabbles.

- Sort through the unfinished fics and fic ideas I have laying around my computer, in notebooks, and on scrap pieces of paper. Organise them, and type up what needs to be typed, or at least work out some better way of keeping them that isn't "lying around in a loose heap on my floor." Finish the fics I still want to write, and trash the ones I don't.

- Finish at least one vid. I've started a couple, and have ideas for a few more, but none of that really means anything if I don't ever finish one. Realise that I'll never get to make that really awesome, epic, good vid if I don't finish at least one or two possibly crappy vids first.

[identity profile] dollsome.livejournal.com 2009-01-03 06:30 am (UTC)(link)
Ooh, your first one is a good one! (Or, well, they're all good ones, but the first one I can really relate to. :D) I really need to start doing that too, because I stop and think how much my WHOLE WORLD LIGHTS UP FROM BEAUTY every time I get a good comment on fic, and how much I just live for them, and suddenly reading something and not reviewing it seems like some form of depraved torture.

So, yeah! I will join you in this goal! I feel like this moment calls for some sort of virtual high five.
ext_7442: (Default)

[identity profile] amathela.livejournal.com 2009-01-03 06:43 am (UTC)(link)
I stop and think how much my WHOLE WORLD LIGHTS UP FROM BEAUTY every time I get a good comment on fic, and how much I just live for them, and suddenly reading something and not reviewing it seems like some form of depraved torture.

I KNOW RIGHT? Like, sometimes I get used to reading stuff and not commenting, which is horrible, and then I actually stop to think about it, and, like, how dare I be all anxious and excited about getting comments on my stuff when I don't comment on other peoples'? So, yeah. 2009 is my Year Of Leaving Comments And Stuff, just you watch.

I think a virtual high five is exactly what's in order, here. Like, maybe if we think it enough, it'll be a thing.

[identity profile] dollsome.livejournal.com 2009-01-03 06:57 am (UTC)(link)
I like to think that Barney Stinson would be proud. VIRTUAL HIGH FIVE.
ext_7442: (Default)

[identity profile] amathela.livejournal.com 2009-01-03 07:03 am (UTC)(link)
VIRTUAL HIGH FIVE.

If it's good enough for Barney, it's good enough for me. As it should be.

[identity profile] comedychick.livejournal.com 2009-01-04 12:09 am (UTC)(link)
I wanna see a finished fanvid :D
ext_7442: (Default)

[identity profile] amathela.livejournal.com 2009-01-04 01:06 am (UTC)(link)
I'm working on it :D